A Chat with the Moon!

In my dreams as I was,

I travelled to the Moon

I went there for a cause

One which you’ll know soon.

Breathless I was as I got down from my spaceship

I stepped on the Moon and felt as if I had reached Paradise

Tired I was, it had been such a long trip

Stunned I was , seeing the Moon’s ugliness, its craters and its immense size

Then I gave it a thought that what do people mean

When they say “Oh! The Moon looks just like you”

The Moon, in reality have they ever seen?

To what extent is their flattery actually true?!!

I sat and felt my hips sink into one of the craters

Somehow, I managed to get out of there

The moon didn’t provide a comfortable seat for haters(because I called it ugly;)

No. This wasn’t fair!

Standing, I asked the Moon a question

Why don’t you radiate your own light?

The Moon had to make a confession

After all he wasn’t even a bit bright!

He said “My dear hater, I know I couldn’t impress you with my ugliness.

But you questioned my true beauty

I am sorry your Highness

But radiating light is my actual duty!

People don’t praise me for my craters so ugly

They praise me for the light I emit

My light is my pride” said the Moon smugly

I was inspired by his spirit.

Though his light was artificial too

He pretended as if he didn’t know it

Stepping in my ship I prepared to flew

But one last time looked at the Moon who proudly lit

One last time I said to him”Bye Bye dear Moon

See you soon”

©SannSpeaks ™

Written for the daily prompt: Radiate

15 thoughts on “A Chat with the Moon!

    1. First of all thanks a lot….Yeah I know…but did it for the daily prompt…I tried to give you readers an insight as to what we think about the moon’s beauty…which is fake but still unknowingly accept it to be a spectacle of adoration!! Thanks for your honest review as they help a lot in shaping up!!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes and the objective of this poem is that the Moon ought to be praised for its duty of giving out light….bcoz after all it lights up our surroundings whenever it is present in the sky

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

